Equipped to Go…

Read: Exodus 1-3
Marked: Exodus 3:10-12, “Come now, therefore, and I will send you to Pharaoh that you may bring My people, the children of Israel, out of Egypt.” But Moses said to God, “Who [am] I that I should go to Pharaoh, and that I should bring the children of Israel out of Egypt?” So He said, “I will certainly be with you. And this [shall be] a sign to you that I have sent you: When you have brought the people out of Egypt, you shall serve God on this mountain.”

Moses was commissioned to go to Egypt to bring the Word of God to Israel and to Pharaoh. But Moses was reluctant. He felt ill qualified for the task. But God promised to be with him.

This is similar to the Great Commission of Matthew 28:19-20 where believers are instructed to go and make disciples of all the nations, teaching them to observe all that God has commanded us. He promises that He will be with us when we go, even to the end of the age.

I might not feel equipped to go, but that means I am relying on my own abilities, my own strength, instead of in the Holy Spirit. I must put my trust in God, not my feelings, even as Moses had to put his trust in God, and do what I have been commanded.

Hold On To Faith…

Read: Genesis 48-50
Marked: Genesis 48:3-4, Then Jacob said to Joseph: “God Almighty appeared to me at Luz in the land of Canaan and blessed me, and said to me, ‘Behold, I will make you fruitful and multiply you, and I will make of you a multitude of people, and give this land to your descendants after you [as] an everlasting possession.’”

Jacob, approximately one hundred-forty-seven years old, was about to die. Yet, these verses show that he held on to the promise of God to make him fruitful and multiply him and be made into a multitude of people.

Jacob never wavered in his faith in the promise of God throughout his whole life. This was the Abrahamic covenant passed on to him from Abraham to Isaac and to Jacob.

We should take God at His word. Unfortunately, too many, rather than trust in God, waiver in their faith when some situation or crisis happens.

Hebrews 11:6 says, “But without faith it is impossible to please Him, for he who comes to God must believe that He is and that He is a rewarder of those who diligently seek Him.”

Jacob kept the faith and experienced the reward that faith brings.